Advocacy Committee

Please refer to the left menu for advocacy activities and initiatives of the association. To learn more about our Committee: OLA Advocacy Committee
Committee Terms of Reference

Committee Members:

Co Chair: Bessie Sullivan (County Public Library System)
Co Chair: Jesse Carliner (Academic Library - University)
Sherry Lawson (First Nation Public Library)
Dawn Telfer (School Library)
Jason Bird (Academic Library - College)


Ex-Officio Members:

Current OLA President
Shelagh Paterson, Executive Director, OLA
Sarah Roberts, Advocacy and Research Officer

What I do library campaign

For our What I Do Library campaign, The Ontario Library Association Advocacy Committee asked librarians and library workers what their working days really looked like. Delegates at the OLA’s Super Conference 2012 shared their roles in writing and by tweeting using the hashtag #whatIdolibrary.  We transcribed the answers and put them together in a Wordle.