OLA: Over 100 years supporting Ontario’s Libraries

Scrolling Logo/Thumbnail Slider Demo - Jssor Slider, Carousel, Slideshow with Javascript Source Code
Name Significant Date
OLA Founded 1900
James Bain, First President of OLA. Award named after him 1901-1902
Presidential address delivered at the third annual meeting of the Ontario Library Association, 1903. 1903
Books recommended to Public libraries of Ontario
Souvenir programme, twenty-first annual meeting of the Ontario Library Association 1921 
Publications of the Government of Ontario 1901-1955 : a checklist / compiled for the Ontario Library Association by Hazel I. MacTaggart. 1964
OLBA W.J. Robertson Medallion Award introduced 1968
Margaret Scott Research Scholarship 1978
Janette baker scholarship 2002
Marjorie Fleming 2006
Larry Moore started his tenure as Executive director of OLA 1984
Public libraries act introduced
OPLA James Bain Award introduced
Libraries 2000 Symposium 1985
Regional library systems become agencies of the province
First Library automation projects funded 1986
OCULA Winter Break is born
Trustee block membership introduced
OLA launched first strategic plan 1987
OLA played leadership role in Pay Equity legislation
OLA major player in fight against BILL C54
OCULA Lifetime Achievement Award introduced 1988
First apple computer introduced at OLA 1989
Lobby against GST on books
First amedment to copyright
Provincial hearings on the Public library strategic plan
Premier Bob Rae speaks at OLA conference 1990
The Teaching Libriarian publication launched
Intellectual freedom manual published
One place to look is presented to the government with fanfare
OLA President's Award for Exceptional Achievement created
Hometown library conference held 1991
OLITA is born as a division
OLA gets first e-mail account
Attempted to change OLA name
OLA has a staff of 4
Information policy promoted with Management Board
Last time membership for OLA was increased 1992
Travel grants awarded to conferences provided by Culture ministry
10 days to 2000 with LITA
Professional literature makes a debut at OLA's three conferences
OLTA wages campaign to preserve citizen-based library boards
OLITA Project Award introduced
OPLA Children's or Youth Services Librarian of the Year Award
Social Contract imposed by Ontario Government 1993
Libraries Advance Ontario launched
OLA sponors Carver workshops around the province
OLA begins representing Neal-Schuman Publishers in Canada
Media and Communications Award introduced
Toni Porter ends tenure at OLA after 20 years 1994
Coalition for Public Information leaves OLA umbrella
Silver Birch Reading program launched
OSLA Teacher-Librarian of the Year Award introduced
First Super Conference conceived 1995
Launch of Access publication
OLA's first website launched
ABO-Franco division created
Expo and Super Conference registration outsourced for the first time 1996
Super Conference moves to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre
Policy Forum born; OLA AGM relocated
Library Building Award created
OLA administers CAP YI for Ontario Bill 109, opposed by OLA, becomes only legistation withdrawn from Harris Government 1997
Education Improvement Commission backs off from replacing Teacher Librarians
OLA's first on-line workshops with Southern Ontario Library Service as a partner
Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award introduced
Geneva Park Conference to reorganize OLA 1998
Red Maple Reading award launched
Consortium of Ontario Libraries formed
Listservs introduced
OSLA Award for Special Achievement introduced
OLA repatriates Expo from third party 1999
OSLA Administrator of the Year Award introduced
OLA's 100th Anniversary 2000
Govenor General Adirenne Clarkson speaks at Super Conference
OLA establihses $300,000 First Nation Scholarship at Faculty of Information Studies
OLA Board re-focuses on issues, not operations
The OLAStore opens 2001
Ontario Digital Library (ODL) launched
OLA office space doubles, includes store showroom; staff of 11
Invitational leadership forum makes school libraries a major OLA priority 2002
Policy Forum ends; AGM reverts to Super Conference
Education Institute launched 2003
$50 000 donation made to OLA and Jeanette May Baker Fund established
Final payment on First Nation Scholarship made to the University of Toronto 2004
OLA, BCLA, LAA, and SLA form the Partnership to develop programs and services
Significant research agenda on school libraries approved
People for Education and OLA partner to improve school libraries
ODL received $700 000 funding 2005
The Partnership goes national
Africa Project launches; more then $40 000 raised
Festival Fund launched
Larry Moore Fund
Knowledge Ontario (formerly ODL) received $8 000 000 2006
Bibliocommons support begun and transferred to Knowledge Ontario
Silver Birch nominee, Three Wishes by Deborah Ellis, sparks national controversy
Provincial Government provides first of two multi-million dollar allocations for school library resources
OLA holds first virtual Webcast AGM
OLA office moved to Wellington Street with a staff of 10 plus 4 from Knowledge Ontario
Archival and Preservation Achievement Award introduced
Funding arrives for new Partners style document on 21st Century Learning 2007
US partner announced for the Education Institute
Content Management System launched
Festival of Trees launched
Larry Moore retires
OPLA Lifetime Achievement Award introduced
Shelagh Paterson becomes Executive Director of OLA 2008
OPLA Leadership in Adult Reader's Advisory Award introduced
OCULA New Librarian Residency Award introduced 2009
• Forest of Reading launches first French reading program (Tamarac)
OCULA Lightning Strikes Student Award introduced 2010
Mentoring Committee
OLA Discovery Fund
Advocacy Committee 2011
OPLA Advocacy in Action Award first awarded 2013
OLA office moves to Toronto Street; staff of 11 2014
Le Prix Tamarac, Tamarac Express, and Peuplier awards ceremonies introduced at the Toronto Festival of Trees
Silver Birch Program 20 year anniversary
OLA Champion Award introduced
OLA and Impact Affairs organize the first Library Day at Queen's Park
Superconference 20 year anniversary
Technical Service Award introduced 2015
ABO-Franco Prix Micheline-Persaud introduced
Diversity Committee created 2016
The Toronto Festival of Trees becomes a 3 day event with one day devoted to French programs
The OLAStore is rebranded as the Library Marketplace; merchandise line Library Lust launched
OCULA Award for Special Achievement introduced
OLBA Joyce Cunningham Public Library Board Award introduced