Special Libraries Committee

The OLA Special Libraries Committee (OLA-SLC) is a group of special librarians and non traditional information professionals dedicated to collaborating, promoting, and sharing the wealth of knowledge in our professional community in Ontario. Members come from a diverse range of fields including librarians in government, law, business and news, as well as research consultants, information specialists, knowledge workers, prospect researchers, and students. The committee hosts professional development events, article nights, community socials, and provides opportunities for partnerships and community outreach.

Committee Members

Alexandra Kwan, Reference Librarian, Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General (chair)
Astrid Lange, Supervisor, Library and Research Services, Toronto Star
Maggie Weaver, Principal, Shaftesbury Associates
Matthew Gertler, Data Librarian, Ryerson Library and Archives
Marjan Farahbaksh, Principal, FSO Research & Information
Jordana Winegust, Resource Specialist, Kids Help Phone
Maggie Tiong, Research Associate, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute


Ex-Officio Members
Sarah Roberts, Ontario Library Association

Learn more

Visit the Special Libraries Committee web site to find out more about the committee and the program/services they offer.