OLA Cultural Diversity & Inclusion Task Force


To initiate, advise and mobilize support for appropriate action plans related to issues of cultural diversity in libraries within Ontario including recruitment, advancement and retention of underrepresented groups in libraries. The OLA Cultural Diversity and Inclusion Committee reports to the OLA Board of Directors.

Committee Members


 Name  Position  Title  Place of Work
 May Yan  Chair  ER Discovery & Access Librarian  Ryerson University Library & Archives
 Tara Zarr  Chair 2016  Information/Marketing Professional  contractor
 Rashad Ahmed  Website coordinator  First Nations Skills Development Advisor  Ontario Library Service - North
 Rhea Smith      
 Michelle Ryu  Secretary 2016, 2017  Information Specialist  Mount Sinai Hospital, Sinai Health System
 Sarala Uttangi  Treasurer 2016, 2017  Manager, Diversity & Adult Services  Brampton Library
 Gayle Hall    CEO  Simcoe County Library Co-operative
 Amanda Kelly  Member  Community Programs Supervisor  Midland Public Library
 Arvind Singh      
 Michelle Arbuckle  Ex-Officio  Director, Member Engagement & Education  Ontario Library Association

OLA Diversity Task Force Poster: Poster

Bibliography: PDF Document

Read the Group’s Terms or Reference or contact Michelle Arbuckle for more information