Steering Committees


The Forest of Reading has seven individual steering committees that are tasked with responsibilities once the nominated lists have been confirmed. They are the ambassadors of the Forest and they work closely with the nominated authors, illustrators, and publishers. In most cases, they are also practitioners running the programs.

Terms of Reference - Steering Committee (School-Aged Programs)
Terms of Reference - Steering Committee (Evergreen)
Note: OLA strives to ensure that its staff, committees, and councils are diverse and inclusive in order to best serve the Ontario library community. There is immense value in bringing together various perspectives and ideas. OLA seeks out participation from members with different library experience; members from all regions of Ontario; Indigenous Peoples; and members with diverse backgrounds including but not limited to age, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, and ability. If you have any questions about getting involved, please contact the OLA staff liaison for the committee/council. 


The timeline for the school aged programs varies from the adult programs. Below is the schedule:
  • School-aged programs – September to May
  • Evergreen Program – January to October


Co-Chairs of the Forest of Reading®
Ruth Gretsinger, District School Board of Niagara
Isabelle Hobbs, Durham District School Board

Blue Spruce Award

Blue Spruce Award™

Barb Bower (Co-Chair)
Stephanie Lamb (Co-Chair)
Penny Tsouluhas, Lisa Ainsworth, Wendy Burch Jones, Rahima Nulla, Beth Lyons, Sandra Lewis, André Lepine, Sarah Oesch, Gillian Killingbeck, Kendra Cutting.
Silver Birch Express Award

Silver Birch Express Award®

Kate Tuff (Co-Chair)
Brenda Reed (Co-Chair)
Rahima Nulla, Michelle Collins, Naomi Brun, Jennifer McConnel, 
Silver Birch Fiction Award

Silver Birch Fiction Award®

Lisa Lewis (Co-Chair)
Donna Lynch (Co-Chair)

 Yellow Cedar Award

Yellow Cedar Award

Susan Wallwork (Chair)
Erica Sutton, Amy Mayer, Toni Duval, Nicole Steurer, Christine Thompson
Red Maple Award

Red Maple Award™

Ashley Pamenter (Co-Chair)
Faith Shergold (Co-Chair)
Nicole Steurer, Julie Campbell, Melissa Jensen, James Steeves, Helen Collins, Jess Longthorne, Kimberly De Witte, Emily Smith, Iana Georgieva-Kaluba
White Pine Award

White Pine Award™

Kara Miley (Chair)
Amanda Della Rocca, Lonnie Freedman, Alanna King, Enid Wray, Mary Burbridge, Theresa Power, Tina Opare
Le prix Peuplier

Le prix Peuplier 

Claudine Blanchard (Chair)
Luisa Esposito-Karantakis, Jeanette Weatherill, Sonia Doyon, Claudia Goselin, Guillaume Brien-Régimbald, Ginette Bourgeois, Daniel Paré, Christine Labelle, Rebecca Webster, Diane Quessy, Carolane Robitaille, Carlie Myher, Karen Devonish-Mazzotta , Christine Brassard, Lynn MacDonald, Evy Gambin, Eugenia Doval, Amanda Halfpenny-Lavender, Marie Baggioni

Le prix Meleze

Le prix Mélèze (formerly le prix Tamarac Express)

Evy Gambin (Chair)
Luisa Esposito-Karantakis, Jeanette Weatherill, Sonia Doyon, Claudia Gosselin, Guillaume Brien-Régimbald, Véronique Labonté, Ginette Bourgeois, Daniel Paré, Nathalie Cazenave-Dit-Berdot, Carolane Robitaille, Amanda Halfpenny-Lavender, Anna Romain, Christine Brassard, Eugenia Doval, Lynn MacDonald, Claudine Blanchard

 Le prix Tamarac

Le prix Tamarac

Eugenia Doval (Chair)
Luisa Esposito-Karantakis, Claudia Gosselin, Guillaume Brien-Régimbald, Véronique Labonté, Nathalie Cazenave-Dit-Berdot, Evy Gambin, Anna Romain, Amanda Halfpenny-Lavender, Diane Quessy

Evergreen Award

Evergreen Award™ 

Christine MacArthur (Chair)