OLA Awards

NEW! All award nominations are now accepted through online forms. Please see each individual award for more information. 
For questions about awards, please contact awards@accessola.com

OLA Larry Moore Distinguished Service Award
The OLA Board of Directors bestows an honourary life membership on a member who has made an outstanding contribution to the libraries of Ontario through his or her work within the Association. The work done must be seen as significant by members from more than one type of library.​  
OLA President's Award for Exceptional Achievement
The President's Award for Exceptional Achievement acknowledges an outstanding action or contribution that has in a major or unique way enhanced or furthered librarianship in Ontario. The selection is at the full discretion of the President of the OLA. Awards are only given if there is something of true historic significance to recognize.​ 
OLA Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award 
The Ontario Library Association Board of Directors established the Award for Intellectual Freedom in 1997 to recognize the courage shown by individuals and organizations in defending the rights of library patrons to full access to information. In 2000, the Award was renamed the Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award in memory of the former Chief Librarian of Toronto Public Library whose efforts on behalf of intellectual freedom in Canada are legendary.​
OLA Media and Communications Award  
The OLA Media and Communications Award was established to reward individuals and companies that present libraries and librarians in a constructive light, breaking down stereotypical images often associated with the profession.
OLA Technical Services Award 
The Ontario Library Association recognizes the Ontario librarian, teacher-librarian, technician, library worker or department who has made a substantial achievement to their institution and/or the library profession in the area of technical services.  
OLA Archival and Preservation Achievement Award 
The Ontario Library Association recognizes Ontario-based individuals and institutions who have made significant achievements on a personal or institutional level in the field of preservation and/or conservation for library and/or archival materials.​ 
OLA Library Building Award
To recognize excellence in library building projects in Ontario. Two categories: New Library Buildings and Library Architectural and Design Transformation.
OLA Champion Award
This award has been developed to recognize unique partnerships with the Ontario Library Association.  This partnership must demonstrate significant contributions and commitment to the association, its programs and services through this venture.  This individual, corporation, group or association has provided connections, support and exposure outside the regular OLA audience adding great value to the OLA.​

Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship 
The Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship was previously offered by the Canadian Library Association (CLA). OLA began to administer the award after CLA's dissolution in 2016 . This award is presented to a candidate that has demonstrated exceptional success in enhancing the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship.