Administrator of the Year

To honour a school administrator who has brought his or her influence to bear on the development of effective school library information centres and of school library program both in a school board and among his or her peers.

To apply: Accepting Applications in September
For questions or more information, contact

To view more information on eligibility and nomination procedures
To view past recipients

2019 Award Recipient

Amanda Chapman

Durham District School Board

Amanda Paterson is the current Innovation Officer for The Durham District School Board. Her portfolio includes K to 12 Library Learning Commons programming, Innovative Education and Inclusive Technology.  Amanda's steadfast commitment to school libraries and innovation has allowed the DDSB to offer exceptionally strong library programming, run by qualified Teacher Librarians to all students across the district. Amanda has been a fierce advocate for school libraries for many years, ensuring school libraries, and teacher librarians are on our  system road map and always supported.   This philosophy, dedication and leadership to school libraries allows  DDSB libraries to continually grow, offering our students rich opportunities for innovative teaching and learning inside our LLCs. Richard Reid, Durham District School Board

2017 Award Recipient

Colin Anderson

Principal, South Carleton High School, Ottawa Carleton District School Board

Colin's willingness to tackle difficult projects and assignments, coupled with his persistent determination are a true testament of his character. Upon his transfer to South Carleton, Colin identified the need for students to have a common, safe, and inclusive area where they could work, collaborate, express their creativity, and be innovative. He put together a team that sought input from parent council, students, the trustee and teachers. Because of his understanding of students' needs and a willingness to listen to stakeholders, as well as to delegate responsibility, resources were allocated to redefine an underutilized Library into a Learning Commons.
Colin was a tireless advocate for change from South Carleton's traditional Library into a vibrant Learning Commons that has served as a model for other schools in our District. This space, bright and welcoming with a "cafe" type feel upon entry, is now a thriving hub of student and teacher activity. 
Brett Reynolds, Superintendent of Instruction, Ottawa Carleton District School Board