Teacher-Librarian of the Year

This Award is given to honour a teacher-librarian who has demonstrated leadership in the implementation of school library programs through Collaboration and Inquiry – based learning. Projects, programs and activities cited should exemplify the vision of Together for Learning in their School Library/Learning Commons.

To apply: Accepting applications in September 
For questions or more information, contact awards@accessola.com

To view more information on eligibility and nomination procedures
To view past recipients

2019 Award Recipients

Glenn Turner

Nepean High School, Ottawa-Carleton District School Board
Glenn Turner has been an outstanding advocate for school libraries in the OCDSB and has role modelled the implementation of Together for Learning through inquiry based activities as a teacher-librarian at Nepean High School. Glenn has provided outstanding Library leadership for our district, as the chair of Library Subject Council, a voluntary position, and in this role was instrumental in supporting new teacher-librarians, providing consultation on the transition of library spaces to learning commons and has advocated and secured shared database resources for the entire district when Knowledge Ontario was no longer available. In his capacity as Library Subject Council chair, Glenn has coordinated numerous opportunities for OLA presenters to provide professional development opportunities to the teacher-librarians in the Ottawa area. Glenn has organizing collaborations with our coterminous board Ottawa Catholic School Board (OCSB) and has also coordinated facility visits and professional development with Carleton University Library and Algonquin College Learning Commons. Megan Fox, Merivale High School

Kate Tuff

Bloorview School Authority
Kate passionately fosters the love of learning in her students. Her enthusiasm for literature and finding engaging books for all students is immediately apparent when you walk into the Library Learning Commons. Students are seen actively reading, seeking books and leaving with a positive attitude. As an educator for 23 years, Kate is keenly aware of the importance of students seeing themselves reflected in their learning, not just students with special needs, but also with culturally responsive literature. Kate critically evaluates texts in order to create a collection of resources that enhances student learning, achievement and programs. Kate recognizes her responsibility as a leader in her school to model innovative practices, promote diversity and cultivate the love of learning and literacy. Through her collaborative initiatives with colleagues Kate has built capacity in the area of Inquiry Based Learning. As both writer and reviewer, Kate has contributed to two inquiry-based learning publications with the TDSB while on secondment to Bloorview. Kate is an active member of the OLA, as a co-chair for Silver Birch Express, actively co-organizing the annual Festival of Trees celebration at Harbourfront. Andrea Statton, Bloorview School Authority

2018 Award Recipient

Sue MacLachlan

Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board 
Sue’s knowledge of what being a teacher librarian means and ability to share this, her patience with anyone she is teaching, including myself, her love of literacy and libraries overall and her enthusiasm for being a teacher librarian and her ability to advocate for this profession are all point toward why she is nominated for this award. Sue also participates in TALCO, The Association of Library Coordinators of Ontario and uses her years of experience and enthusiasm for new developments to promote Teacher-Librarians as leaders in learning. Donna Millard, Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board