OLA Scholarships

      The OLA Dr. Janette Baker Scholarship: 
This new OLA scholarship fund has been made possible through a generous bequest of $50,000 by the late Dr. Janette Baker. Scholarships are available annually to support attendance at a recognized library and information program by individuals who have been working for a minimum of three years and who are employed outside of the education profession. The OLA Board of Directors is committed to increasing Dr. Baker's $50,000 investment and, welcomes donations from members, corporate partners and interested friends. The first scholarship was awarded in May 2004.
      The OLA Grace Buller Aboriginal Student Scholarship:  
Created from an endowment funded by Grace Buller and the members of the OLA, and matched by the University of Toronto, this scholarship subsidizes students of aboriginal heritage to better connect with information management technology and systems and encourages the growth of information services in native communities. Grace Buller was an activist for women's rights in libraries and for the underdog in the community. She selflessly pursued programs for people in small, under-represented communities. As a director in the government's public libraries branch, she made a difference. This scholarship is her legacy. The first scholarship was awarded in 2002.

The OLA/OSLA/Ken Haycock Super Conference Grant:
Dr. Ken Haycock granted the Chancellor Group Conference Grant to the Canadian Library Association (CLA) in 1990 for Teacher-Librarianship in Canada as a way to honour the founding members of the Canadian Association of School Librarians. A travel grant of $500 was to provide support to newly qualified teacher-librarians (the "TL") to attend the annual conference of the CLA. The funds were transferred to OLA in 2016 after CLA's dissolution. OLA is now proud to provide the grant to support new TL's to attend the OLA Super Conference. 
To apply: Submit a brief biography/resume of the nominee outlining their achievements and library background as well as two (2) letters endorsing the nominee to awards@accessola.com by January 1, 2017