OPLA Council

Nominations for council positions take place in late September each year, and the election of council members occurs in November. Newly-elected council members assume their office on January 1st. The term of office spans the calendar year, from January to December. Following the expiration of their term of office, executive members of council still have duties to perform at the Annual General Meeting of the OPLA, which takes place in February during the Super Conference.

Erika Heesen

President 2020
Perth Union Library


Douglas Davey

Vice-President / President-Elect 2020
Halton Hills Public Library

Elizabeth Malak

Past President 2020
Toronto Public Library


Elaine Bird

Councillor-Central East Region 2019-2021
Pickering Public Library

Ben Shaw

Councillor - Mid-Central Region 2020
Markham Public Library


Jessica Veldman

Councillor -  West Central Region 2020-2022
Wellington County Public Library

Natalie Marlow

Councillor - Southwestern Region 2020-2022
Elgin County Public Library


Gillian Byrne

Councillor - Toronto 2018-2020
Manager, Toronto Reference Library
Toronto Public Library

Ardis Proulx-Chedore

Councillor - Northeastern Region 2019-2021
Cochrane Public Library


Dayna DeBenedet

Councillor - Northwestern Region 
Dryden Public Library

Tony Westenbroek

Councillor - Eastern Region 2020-2021
Ottawa Public Library


Melanie Ware

Kickstart to Participation 2020
Whitby Public Library





Nicole Zummach

Editor of HoOPLA 2019-23
Killaloe & District Public Library

Mike Laverty

OPLA Editor, Open Shelf
Sioux Lookout Public Library

Super Conference Planners

Hamid Printer

Super Conference Co-Planner
Toronto Public Library

Ashleigh Dronkyk

Super Conference Co-Planner
Niagara Public Library