OSLA Council

Nominations for council positions take place in late September each year, and the election of council members occurs in November. Newly-elected council members assume their office on January 1st. The term of office spans the calendar year, from January to December. Following the expiration of their term of office, executive members of council still have duties to perform at the Annual General Meeting of the OSLA, which takes place in February during the Super Conference.

Maureen McGrath

OSLA President 2020
Nicholson Catholic College

Beth Lyons

OSLA Vice-President/President Elect 2021
Peel District School Board


Jennifer Brown

OSLA Past President 2019
Treasurer 2020
Peel District School Board

Melanie Mulcaster
Councillor - Mid - Central Region 2019-2021
Peel District School Board

Shelley Merton
Councillor - Central East Region 2020-2022
Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board

Ruth Gretsinger

Councillor - Central West Region
District School Board of Niagara

Cathy MacKechnie

Councillor - Eastern Region 2019-2021
Ottawa-Carleton District School Board

Johanna Lawler

Councillor - Southwestern Region 2018-2020
Greater Essex District School Board

Heather Webb-Makin

Councillor - Toronto Region 2019-2021
Toronto District School Board

Councillor - Northern Region 

Caroline Freibauer

Teaching Librarian Editor-in-Chief
Brant Haldimand Northfolk Catholic District School Board


Super Conference Planners


Kate McGregor-Johnson 

Super Conference Co-Planner
Grand Erie School Board


Dawn Telfer

Super Conference Co-Planner
Thames Valley DSB


OSLA Council members take on responsibilities for major issues or tasks through portfolios, or participate as representatives on OLA committees. OSLA also forms other committees of members, as needed.

Responsibilities are outlined on the 
portfolio descriptions page.