News, events and reports


A new Facebook group was created April 3rd.
This group is a communications tool for individuals who may belong to a Friends of the Library group. Members are invited to discuss topics of interest, including, but not limited to, advocacy, fundraising, marketing, programming and volunteer management.

Use this link to submit a request to join  - link

September, 2018

Attention Friends of the Library: OLA is forming a Friends of the Library Committee and is Seeking Volunteers 

The Friends of the Library organization in communities supports the mission of the Library Board and the Library through its activities and projects, and keeps the Library Board and the CEO informed of their activities. The Friends agree to publicly support the Library and its policies.

The OLA Friends Committee exists to provide support and resources to assist in the formation and promotion of Friends of the Library groups. In addition, the Committee will act as a resource to the OLA community on topics of interest to Friends of the Library groups, including advocacy, fundraising, marketing, programming and volunteer management. Where appropriate, the Committee will act in an advisory capacity to Friends groups and/or library volunteers, and to library management and staff looking to form or further develop a Friends of the Library group.

The desired composition for this new committee is: OLA members who are members of a Friends of the Library group (4), Library Director/CEO (2) and Library Board Trustee (1).

The committee will meet twice a year via teleconference. Read the Committee Terms of Reference for more information. Interested? Contact Shelagh Paterson, executive director.

FOCAL held a SPECIAL MEETING, as directed by the Canada Not-for-Profit Corporations-Act. The resolution for dissolution of the organization was passed during the meeting of members Oct. 27, 2016.

Motion of dissolution    

Dorothy Macnaughton, President of FOCAL and Shelagh Paterson, Executive Director of the Ontario Library Association, met in April to discuss some options for the future.

Following the decision is to dissolve FOCAL, Shelagh took a proposal for the formation of a new Committee of the OLA to the Ontario Library Association Board for their consideration. The formation of a friends committee was approved in principal at the November board meeting of the Ontario Library Association.

Jami van Haaften and Dorothy Macnaughton continue to take steps necessary to dissolve FOCAL. A draft terms of reference is needed for the new Friends Committee within the Ontario Library Association.

                         * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Summer 2016 issue
- FOCAL Point newsletter  - link

Winner - Gabriele Schreiber Friends of the Year Award  

    Society of the Friends of the Red Deer Public Library - read more . . .

feedback form
 Our coast-to-coast listing
of Friends groups and
library foundations.

Penguin Random House of Canada
  Our official sponsor since 1998