About the Forest of Reading

The Forest of Reading® is Canada's largest recreational reading program! This initiative of the Ontario Library Association (OLA) offers ten reading programs to encourage a love of reading in people of all ages. The Forest helps celebrate Canadian books, publishers, authors and illustrators. More than 270,000 readers participate annually from their school and/or public library. All Canadians are invited to participate via their local public library, school library, or individually.

The Forest of Reading Award Programs are where children and young adults pick the winner! Readers choose a program that they would like to be a part of, usually based on their age or grade, and simply begin reading! They can read all ten of the titles, or pick and choose to read only the ones they are interested in. Participants are encouraged to read at least five of the ten titles to be eligible to vote in April. This program aims to encourage a genuine and life-long love of reading among readers of all ages.

Goals of the Forest of Reading

  • Love of reading: Create a meaningful experience for your readers and create exciting opportunities for reluctant readers to create lifelong readers.
  • A proven head start: The results are in! Children who read for fun have higher literacy scores, have more success in science and math, and are more socially and civically engaged (Reading for Joy, P4E, 2011).
  • Libraries at centre stage: With fun activities, prizes and more, the Forest of Reading puts libraries at the heart of the action!
  • Reading Canadian: Help support and celebrate Canadian books, publishers, authors and illustrators by taking advantage of the Forest’s curated, all-Canadian reading lists for all ages and levels.

Read about the history of the Forest of Reading

Check out our other reading lists!

Our Programs are designed for various age ranges as follows:

Programs for Kids

  Program Name
Age/Grade Range
Book Type
Blue Spruce Award
Blue Spruce Award™
ages 4-7, JK–Grade 2
English, picture books
Silver Birch Express Award
Silver Birch Express Award® ages 8-10, Grades 3–4 English, fiction / non-fiction
Silver Birch Fiction Award
Silver Birch Fiction Award® ages 8-12, Grades 3–6 English, fiction
Yellow Cedar Award
Yellow Cedar Award
ages 9-14, Grades 4–8 English, non-fiction
Red Maple Award
Red Maple Award™
ages 12-14, Grades 7–8 English, fiction
White Pine Award
White Pine Award™
high school, Grades 9–12
English, fiction
Le prix Peuplier
Le prix Peuplier
varies French, picture books
Le prix Meleze
Le prix Mélèze
(Formerly Le prix Tamarac Express)

French, shorter chapter books or
mature picture books (maximum 100 pages)
 Le prix Tamarac  Le prix Tamarac  varies French, chapter books (100-250 pages)

Program For Adults

  Program Name
Age/Grade Range
Book Type
Evergreen Award
Evergreen Award™ Adults of any age English, fiction / non-fiction

Program Timeline

In October, the school aged-programs are launched when the lists of nominated titles are announced by the OLA. Most schools and libraries start to run the program in December/January. School-aged programs are given in May at the Festival of Trees, and the Evergreen Award is given during Ontario Public Library Week each October.

Registering Your School, Library or Child

You simply need to register online. The cost of the registration is for one school or library, no matter the number of readers in your program. Parents are encouraged to register their own child if they want to run it outside of either the school or library. Within a public library system each branch is a different site, therefore each branch must register separately. The nominal registration fee is separate from the cost of the books.

Getting the Books

Books are sold by the official wholesaler of the Forest, Tinlids Inc., and are available in retail stores and public libraries. The OLA encourages you to support your local independent bookstores when possible. Tinlids Inc. offers schools and public libraries a discount. Alternatively, when registering for the program, books can be purchased through OLA, but will be shipped by Tinlids Inc.

Official Wholesaler

The Forest of Reading Official Wholesaler is Tinlids Inc. Without their support this program would not be possible. Visit the Official Wholesaler webpage to learn more. 


The Forest of Reading Award programs are trademarked with either a ® or ™, so please ensure you are following the style guide when using these programs for any purpose. Only registered sites are permitted to be using the Forest brand.