The Ontario Library Association (OLA) Forest of Reading has eight programs with more than 250,000 readers from Kindergarten to adults participating every year. Each year, the program continues to grow and brings more attention and sales to Canadian publishers and authors. Publisher and author/illustrator involvement is so integral to the success of the Forest programs.

If you require a digital copy of a program seal for a book cover (that includes the year and either "nominee" or "winner"), please contact Lauren Hummel at

To create the lists of nominated titles each year, dozens of experienced school and public library staff in each program read as many eligible books as they can. Over one hundred books are nominated every year. All nominated titles from the beginning of each program can be found under our page of nominees.

The categories that books can be submitted to are as followed:

For Kids

  Program Name
Grade Range
Book Type

Blue Spruce Award™
JK–Grade 2
English, picture books

Silver Birch Award® Grades 3–6 English, fiction / non-fiction

Red Maple Award™
Grades 7–8 English, fiction every year, non-fiction (every other year)

White Pine Award™
Grades 9–12
English, fiction

Le Prix Peuplier
Varies French, picture books

Le Prix Tamarac
French, chapter books (100 - 250 pages)

Le Prix Tamarac Express
French, shorter chapter books or mature picture books (maximum 100 pages)

For Adults

  Program Name
Grade Range
Book Type

Golden Oak Award™
Adults learning to read, ESL
English, fiction / non-fiction

Evergreen Award™ Adults of any age Enlgish, fiction / non-fiction