Selection Committees



The Forest of Reading has seven individual selection committees that are tasked with selecting the annual nominated lists for children and adults. After reviewing all applications, the OLA appoints the committees to read, reviews and recommend Canadian books that meet the selection criteria and are deemed to be the best available titles for a given year, in a given program.

Terms of Reference - Committee
Terms of Reference - Committee Chairs


The timeline for each Award varies due to the reading demands for each program. Below is the schedule of reading:
  • Blue Spruce – April to June
  • Silver Birch – November to August
  • Red Maple – October to August
  • White Pine – September to August
  • Le Prix Peuplier – February to August
  • Le Prix Tamarac – February to August
  • Evergreen – February to December
The final lists for the school-aged programs and Golden Oak are announced on October 15th. The final list for Evergreen is announced during Ontario Public Library Week in October each year.

Selection Committee Timeline & Reading Requirements Chart

2019 Selection Committees

Co-Chairs of the Forest of Reading®
Ruth Gretsinger, District School Board of Niagara
Isabelle Hobbs, Durham District School Board

Blue Spruce Award™

Becky Jenkins (Co-Chair)
Sarah Oesch (Co-Chair)
Johanna Gibson-Lawler, Katharine Bartlett, Kendra Cutting, Katelyn Granger, Brandy Spencer, Anthea Bailie, Lori Pierce, Leah Ede-Pisano, Isabelle Hobbs, Laurel van Dommelen, Diane Mackay, Janet Marlin

Silver Birch Fiction Award®

Peggy Thomas (Co-Chair)
Lauren Flattery (Co-Chair)
Agnieszka Marszalek, Barbara Kassies, Ruth Gretsinger, Donna Lynch, Laurel McCaig, Rashed Ahmed, Corinna McGill, Casey MacDonald, Becky Jenkins, Lillian Gretsinger, Meagan Alyea

Silver Birch Non-Fiction Award®

Donna Lynch (Co-Chair)
Tony Duval (Co-Chair)
Lynn Goodwin, Laurel van Dommelen, Luisa Esposito, Donna Millard, Amy Geddes, Sonia Doyon, Kim Worobec, Kate Morrison, Janet Marlin, Vicki VonZuben

Red Maple Fiction Award™ 

Serena McGovern  (Chair)
Samantha Dillane, Clara Camarda, Luisa Esposito, Kersti Harvey, Karyn Kostiuk, Karen Upper, Laurie Orford, Andrew Morrison, Lisa Carl, Isabelle Hobbs, Darlene Edwards, Josie Norton, Myra Junyk

White Pine Award™

Theresa Power (Co-Chair)
Caroline Ducanson (Co-Chair)
Amy Mathers, Angela Thompson, Enid Wray, Serena McGovern, Karen Whiteman, Jade Noble, Ruth MacSween, Mary Burbidge, Corina Surcel, Kim Elliott, Janine Veinot-Wolch, Susan Kernohan

Evergreen Award™ 

Kathryn Lee (Chair)
Carrie Benbow, Jeff Dodge, Katrina Doktor, Colleen Kelly, Erin Kernohan-Berning, Christine MacArthur, Caroline Moynihan, Emily Weiskopf-Ball, Stephanie McPherson

Golden Oak Award™

Gail Kavelman (Co-Chair)
Katie Hill (Co-Chair)
Kate Morrison, Myra Junyk, Lynella Reid, Sonia Doyon, Melissa McSweeney

Le Prix Tamarac Award

Eugenia Doval (Chair)
Amanda Halfpenny, Anna Romain, Claudia Gosselin, Diane Quessy, Evy Gambin, Guillaume Brien-Régimbald, Luisa Esposito-Karantakis, Margaret Mary Conlon, Nathalie Cazenave Dit Berdot, Sonia Doyon, Véronique Labonté

Le Prix Tamarac Express Award

Evy Gambin (Chair)
Amanda Halfpenny, Anna Romain, Claudia Gosselin, Claudine Blanchard, Diane Quessy, Eugenia Doval, Guillaume Brien-Régimbald, Jeanette Weatherill, Luisa Esposito-Karantakis, Lynn MacDonald, Margaret Mary Conlon, Nancie Bolduc, Nathalie Cazenave Dit Berdot, Sonia Doyon, Véronique Labonté

Le Prix Peuplier Award

Diane Quessy (Chair)
Amanda Halfpenny, Anna Romain, Carlie Myher, Christine Fortin, Christine Labelle, Claudia Gosselin, Claudine Blanchard, Eugenia Doval, Evy Gambin, Guillaume Brien-Régimbald, Jeanette Weatherill, Jennifer Kundakci, Luisa Esposito-Karantakis, Lynn MacDonald, Margaret Mary Conlon, Melissa Bulgutch, Nancie Bolduc, Nathalie Cazenave Dit Berdot, Sonia Doyon, Véronique Labonté